EV chargers by brand
Tesla Wall Connector installation
Compare quotes from local installers for a Tesla Wall Connector. See Tesla's own specifications for each model, what installation involves, and what to check before you sign.
Tesla chargers at a glance
- Models listed
- 1
- Supply
- Single and three phase
- Highest charging rate
- 11 kW
- Solar charging
- Not stated
Tesla models and specifications
From Tesla's Australian product pages and datasheets, checked 2 October 2026. “Not stated” means Tesla doesn't publish it.
| Model | Supply | Charging rate | Cable | Solar charging | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wall Connector (Gen 3)Up to 11 kW on three phase. Warranty is 4 years for residential use. Load sharing for up to six units.Product page | Single or three phase | 7.4 kW single phase, 11 kW three phase | Tethered, 7.3 m cable | Not stated | 4 years |
Installing a Tesla Wall Connector
- A licensed electrician must install a wall charger. They check your switchboard, your supply and where the charger will go.
- Single-phase homes in Queensland: since 1 October 2026, Energex and Ergon Energy Network allow a single-phase charger of up to 32 A (about 7.4 kW) without a network control device.
- Three-phase homes: Energex allows a charger of up to 22 kW (32 A per phase) without active management if it switches across all three phases together. The car also has to accept that rate.
- Extra work: Energex warns that switchboard upgrades, wiring, metering and safety measures can add to the cost. Ask for them to be itemised.
What a Tesla Wall Connector quote should include
- The exact model, its charging rate on your supply, and whether it's tethered or a socket
- Cable run from the switchboard, and any switchboard or protection work, itemised
- Whether load management is set up, so the charger slows down when the house is using a lot of power
- App, scheduling and solar charging set-up
- Who handles warranty claims with Tesla, and a certificate of compliance for the electrical work
Questions about the Tesla Wall Connector
Can you find me a Tesla Wall Connector installer?
Tell us you'd like Tesla and we'll pass that on to up to 3 participating installers in your area. Each installer confirms whether they can supply and install it, or suggests an alternative. We don't guarantee a particular brand, and you're under no obligation to go ahead.
Will a Tesla Wall Connector work on single-phase power?
Yes: Wall Connector (Gen 3). Most homes are single phase. In Queensland, a single-phase charger of up to 32 A (about 7.4 kW) has been allowed without a network control device since 1 October 2026.
Can a Tesla Wall Connector charge from solar?
Tesla doesn't state solar charging for the models listed here. Ask installers how charging could be scheduled for the middle of the day instead.
Is a Tesla Wall Connector bidirectional (V2H or V2G)?
No. The Tesla models listed here charge the car only. Bidirectional chargers are a separate type of product.
How much does it cost to install a Tesla Wall Connector?
It depends mostly on the charger and how much electrical work your home needs: cable length, the switchboard and whether you have three-phase power. Our installation cost guide explains what pushes the price up, and an itemised quote is the way to compare.
Sources
Facts on this page were checked on 2 October 2026. Rules and programs change, so confirm details with your installer.
Ready to compare Tesla Wall Connector quotes?
Tell us about your car and your home, and get quotes from up to 3 local installers. Free and no obligation.
Get Tesla charger quotes